Rooibos Ltd announces its Producer of the Year

On 24 October this year, Phillip Huisamen from the farm Gifberg near Vanrhynsdorp received Rooibos Ltd’s 2013 Producer of the Year Award and the Cecil Bergh Floating Trophy. Nominees were judged on their production planning and administration, production efficiency, the overall condition of their plantations, and their contribution to enhanced production technology.

Says Johan Brand, Technical Manager at Rooibos Ltd: “The successful production of Rooibos is underpinned by cost-efficient production practices and the effective use of natural resources. It all starts with the Rooibos producer. In addition, producers need to be innovative and flexible, and manage costs, quality and availability in order to deliver a sustainable supply of Rooibos. Phillip Huisamen is an asset to the Rooibos industry.”

The runner-up was David Burger from the farm Diepkloof in the Nardouwsberg region.

The HC Ginsberg Floating Trophy for the Top Rooibos Sample went to JJ Marais from Kleinvlei outside Citrusdal. The first runner-up, Albie Bakker from Achterfontein in the Agter-Pakhuys received the Clanwilliam Tea Coop Floating Trophy, and the second runner-up, Dr JDM Hanekom from Swartberg near Citrusdal, received the Citrusdal Ko-operatiewe Droogbane Beperk Floating Trophy.

The James W van Putten Floating Trophy for the Seedling Grower of the Year went to Robert Bergh from Zeekoevlei. According to Johan Brand, the future of the Rooibos industry and the quality of its products depend on the ability to grow healthy seedlings. Hence, Rooibos Ltd needs to acknowledge the efforts that go into the production and management of seedlings.