路易波士植物

路易波士植物

植物

路易波士属于阿斯帕拉索属. 这个南非原产的属有超过200个种。只有“线叶金雀花”物种(Rooibos)具有经济价值。
路易波士是颗低矮灌木,有光滑的中心茎干。靠近地表的枝干分岔并且形成美丽的侧枝。每个枝干会长出软软的,像针一样的叶子。
路易波士初期一般有0.5米到1.5米,根据植物的年龄、所处地区的气候以及土壤条件,成熟的植物一般可以长到1到2米,路易波士的自然种植地区是从300米到900米海拔。

气候

这种植物早已适应了塞德宝山脉的艰苦条件——冬天气温能降到0摄氏度,夏天能升到酷热的48度。塞德宝山脉每年有180到500毫米的降水量,这块地域也经常处于严重的干旱状态,但是路易波士可以长出3米长的根来汲取充足的水分生存下去,他们的根还能够接触到排水良好、酸度高、凉爽的沙质土壤。

种子

尽管路易波士的生长需要冬季的降雨,但它只在春季才会开始迅速生长,一直到盛夏以后,生长速度才慢下来。在南非10月份的春天里,路易波士植物会开出很多黄色小花。每朵花只产生一个小豆荚,里面有一个非常小的、浅黄色硬壳的双子叶种子。
我们从植物周围的沙子中筛出种子并且用机械洗刷工具擦洗种子,使其发芽率从30%提升至95%。

自1954年以来首选路易波士供应商
 
PAIA MANUAL
 
© Rooibos Ltd.

The Rooibos Plant

The Rooibos Plant

The plant
Rooibos belongs to the genus Aspalathus and is part of the legume family (FABACEAE). This genus has over 200 species and is indigenous to South Africa. Only the Aspalathus linearis species (Rooibos) has economic value.

The plant is a shrub-like bush with a central, smooth-barked main stem. Near the soil surface the stem subdivides into a number of strong offshoots, followed by delicate side branches each bearing, singly or in clusters, soft, needle-like leaves.

The plants' height at maturity varies from 1 to 2 metres in its natural state, while the height of cultivated plants varies from 0,5 to 1,5 metres, depending on the age of the plant, as well as the climate and soil conditions in the area of production. Rooibos is grown at a varying altitude of approximately 300 to 600 metres above sea level.

The climate
The Rooibos plant has adapted well to the harsh conditions of the Cederberg region where temperatures drop to zero degrees centigrade during the winter months and rise to a blistering 48 degrees centigrade in summer.

The winter rains vary between 180 mm to 500 mm per annum. No irrigation is used and the Rooibos plant is often subjected to severe drought conditions. The survival mechanism of this hardy bush is its tap root that digs down 3 metres or more into the well-drained, cool, sandy soil that has a high acidity level.

The seeds
Although the plant requires a production area with winter rainfall, its active growth only starts in spring, increasing towards midsummer after which growth declines. During October the plant is covered with small, yellow flowers. Each flower produces only one small pod containing a single, very small, light yellow, hard-shelled, dicotyledonous seed.

Seeds are collected by sifting the sand around the plants. The seeds are scrubbed with mechanical scourers to increase the germination potential from 30% to about 95%.

Preferred supplier of Rooibos since 1954
 
DISCLAIMER | PAIA MANUAL
 
© Rooibos Ltd.