路易波士的故事

路易波士的故事

在西开普省的塞德宝山脉地区,路易波士在这里展现出了惊人的增长,累积了丰富的历史,这些历史就像它所处的土地一样丰富多彩。

  • 1610荷兰人把第一批来自中国的茶叶运到欧洲。
  • 1652: 荷兰东印度公司派来的航海家Jan van Riebeeck到了开普敦,他来给参与香料之路的轮船建立一个供应站。荷兰殖民者把他们的茶文化从欧洲带了过来。因为当时的茶叶很贵,所以当地的农民会用凡波斯植物叶子来提高锡兰茶的香味儿。
  • 1660: 荷兰的移民在今天的Citrusdal发现了很多大象,后来,他们把这个地区称为大象河谷。离大象河谷不远的地方就是今天的克兰威廉,克兰威廉就是路易波士行业以及本公司的核心区了。
  • 1700 to 1800: 塞德堡地区居民习惯于从一 种名为路易波(Rooibos) 的野生植物获取原料来制作茶叶。 他们用斧子将这种植物的叶子和细茎削下来,继而用锤子碾碎,最后将碾碎的叶子堆拢发酵。 发酵后,将叶子和细茎在非洲酷烈的阳光下暴晒, 晒干后即可用于制作解渴的饮料。今天, 路易波士茶仍然沿用了与以往几乎相同的加工方法, 当然,现今使用的是机械工艺,远比过去的做法精细。
  • 1904: 一位名叫本杰明金斯伯格 (Benjamin Ginsberg) 的俄罗斯移民意识到了它的市场潜力,金斯伯格祖上世代为茶商,有赖此人雄厚的背景和丰富的经验,“塞德堡的秘密”才得以走出植物王国、攀越当地的宏伟山峦,进而风靡世界。
  • 1930: 克兰威廉的医生兼业余植物学家 P. Le Fras Nortier 解开了路易波士种子发芽的秘密。他与商业农场主奥洛夫 伯格合作,开发出新的种植方法,很快地,人们开始沿着塞德堡的山坡大规模种植路易波士。
  • 1948: 二战后,市场对路易波士的需求下降。为了保护生产者,一些农民建立了克兰威廉茶合作社。
  • 1954: 路易波士茶管制委员会成立了,旨在规范市场营销活动和完善质量控制。在董事会的领导下,路易波士行业迎来了一个繁荣稳定的新时代。从那时起,该行业稳步发展,不断完善生产方法,不断增加发行规模,使世界各地的人们都能享受到这种独特和美好的茶。
  • 1993: 委员会实现私有化,路易波士有限公司(Rooibos Limited) 自此成立。
  • 2003: 路易波士有限公司开发了首款路易波士绿茶 (未发酵的路易波士)。
  • 2009: 路易波士有限公司新推出了一本烹饪书《A Touch of Rooibos》,南非的14位顶级厨师为这本书提供了以路易波士为配料的食谱,展示了用路易波士烹饪的多样性。
  • 2011: 路易波士有限公司提取物生产的工厂建成。
  • 2012: 路易波士有限公司把路易波士遍布到全球50个国家。
  • 2014: 路易波士有限公司把路易波士推广到全球60多个国家。
  • 2015: 路易波士有限公司的研究和开发部门正在与客户和产品配方专家合作,不断探索与路易波士产品相关的新鲜想法。
  • 2017: 路易波士有限公司推出了他们的在线商店,为世界各地的消费者提供广泛的路易波士茶和路易波士相关产品。
自1954年以来首选路易波士供应商
 
PAIA MANUAL
 
© Rooibos Ltd.

The Story of Rooibos

The Story of Rooibos

From its humble origins in the rugged Cederberg region of the Western Cape, the Rooibos industry has charted phenomenal growth, accumulating a history as colourful as the land from which it comes.

  • 1610: Dutch traders were the first to import tea to Europe from China.
  • 1652: The Dutch East India Company (VOC) established a refreshment station at the Cape of Good Hope for the sailors that plied the trade routes between Europe and Asia. They brought with them the culture of tea drinking. Early settlers began to augment the expensive Chinese tea with leaves from the local Fynbos shrubs.
  • 1660: The first pioneer explorers ventured into the Cederberg and Olifants River Valley.
  • 1700 to 1800: Migrants and settlers in the Cederberg area discovered that the fine, needle-like leaves of the Aspalathus linearis plant make a tasty, aromatic tea. The leaves and fine stems were chopped with axes and bruised with mallets before being left in heaps to ferment. Once fermented, the Rooibos was spread out to dry in the hot African sun, ready for use as a thirst-quenching drink. Today, Rooibos is still processed in much the same way, but of course, these methods are now mechanised and far more refined.
  • 1904: Benjamin Ginsberg, a Russian immigrant and pioneer in the area, became interested in Rooibos and realised its marketing potential. He started trading it from the local farmers. The fact that Ginsberg came from a family who had been in the tea industry in Europe for centuries provided him with the know-how to market this new "mountain tea".
  • 1930: By 1930, Dr P le Fras Nortier, the local medical doctor and amateur botanist, had discovered the secret of germinating Rooibos seeds. Together with Olof Bergh, a commercial farmer, he developed new cultivation methods and soon the production of Rooibos began on a much larger scale along the slopes of the Cederberg mountain range.
  • 1948: The Rooibos producers established the Clanwilliam Tea Cooperative in 1948 when the Rooibos market collapsed after the Second World War.
  • 1954: At the request of the Cooperative, the Minister of Agriculture appointed the Rooibos Tea Control Board in 1954. The Control Board's task was to regulate marketing, stabilise prices, and improve and standardise quality. A new era began for the Rooibos industry, as the Board's leadership guided the industry towards stability and prosperity. Since that time, the industry has made steady progress, refining its production methods and increasing distribution so that the unique goodness of Rooibos can be enjoyed by people the world over.
  • 1993: The Rooibos Tea Control Board was converted into the fully privatised company Rooibos Limited.
  • 2003: Green Rooibos (unfermented Rooibos) is produced by Rooibos Ltd.
  • 2009: A new cookbook, A touch of Rooibos, is launched. What makes this book unique is that 14 of South Africa's top chefs contributed recipes in which they use Rooibos as an ingredient to show its versatility in cooking.
  • 2011: Rooibos Ltd opened a factory to produce extracts.
  • 2012: Rooibos Ltd distributes Rooibos to 50 countries worldwide.
  • 2014: Rooibos Ltd distributes Rooibos to more than 60 countries around the world.
  • 2015: Rooibos Ltd continues to work with major international brands to develop and launch more ready-to-drink beverages and a variety of products for the food industry.
  • 2017: Rooibos Ltd launches their online shop that offers a wide range of Rooibos and Rooibos related products to consumers around the world.

Preferred supplier of Rooibos since 1954
 
DISCLAIMER | PAIA MANUAL
 
© Rooibos Ltd.